Peach and Cherry Streuselkuchen

I was thinking about cakes lately but since I’m into “diet” and “i-will-not-eat-too-much-sweets” state of mind, I pushed away the idea of making chocolate or cheese cake and the likes. I want something with fresh fruits inside.

I asked the help of the ever reliable internet for any light and unsweetened cakes but unfortunately, the “logic” says that cakes are supposed to be sweet. (well, there are unsweetened cakes, right?) Anyways, since I cannot find anything in youtube and google, I settled for the cookbook which came with the box of my Kenwood Mixer. There are a lot of good recipes in this booklet and most of them are very easy to make.

kenwood recipe book

I found the Peach and Cherry “i can’t read” Streuselkuchen and decided to make it. First of all, it has fresh fruits. Second, the rest of the ingredients can be found inside my cupboard. And of course, the sugar content is fair enough for my preference.

Now, Streuselkuchen means crumb cake or any cake topped with a mixture of sugar, butter and flour called streusel. It sounds German but I’m not really sure if it is. 
So here’s the recipe. It’s a no fuss cake, easy to make and so yummy. It goes well with coffee or tea. 
250      g. self-raising flour
5ml      ground cinnamon
175g    butter, softened and cubed
175g    sugar
75g      ground almonds
1          egg
4          fresh peaches, halved, stoned and slice
175g    fresh cherries, stoned, or fresh raspberries
10 ml   cornflour

  • Preheat the oven to 200C/400F. Grease a 23cm (9 inch) spring-form cake tin. Place the flour, cinnamon and butter in the mixer bowl. On minimum speed, mix together until the mixture starts to stick together.
  • Add the sugar and ground almonds and mix to a coarse, crumbly texture. Do not over-mix.
  • Weigh 175g of the mixture and set aside. Add the egg to the remainder and mix to a dough.
  • Transfer to the prepared tin and press over the base and about 2.5cm up the sides of the tin. (More like a pie base)
  • Mix the peaches, cherries and the corn flour then place in the tin.
  • Sprinkle over the reserved crumble mixture and bake for 35-40 minutes, or until golden. Leave to cool for 30 minutes then remove from the tin and place on a wire rack to cool completely.

Have a slice 🙂

Leave a comment