Break a Leg! (or should I say Eat a Leg?)

I woke up depressed because I miss Bacolod Chicken Inasal. Yes, Bacolod City from Negros Occidental in the Visayas is known for its chicken barbecue which you cannot find any comparison all over the Philippines. My cousin Vhon ( click to view her blog ) made a review of this in her blog and I cant help but read over and over again and it’s torture. Though I wanted to have something like chicken barbecue where I could eat with chili-spicy soy sauce, onion, lemon and RICE, I decided to make this simple oven-baked chicken legs, a regular favorite and baked some sliced potatoes to go with it. They say, when you crave, you have to find something taste-like. But this recipe is no way near Bacolod Chicken Barbecue. First of all, this is baked and not grilled or barbecued. But anyway, this can cure the craving and definitely tasty. A home-made baked chicken legs for a gloomy Thursday evening.

So here’s the recipe:

6-8 pieces large Chicken Legs
2 tsp. paprika
1/2 tsp. hot paprika
1 spn. granulated garlic
1/2 tsp. ground pepper
1 tsp. salt
olive oil
rosemary
thyme
  • mix all the spices (paprika, hot paprika, salt, garlic, pepper)
  • coat the chicken legs with the mixture.
  • preheat oven at 375F
  • heat oil in medium heat, fry the chicken legs until brown or half-cooked.
  • grease baking pan with olive oil or butter, place the half-cooked chicken legs.
  • pour some of the oil you use for frying into the pan.
  • pour about 50 ml. of hot water.
  • sprinkle with dry thyme and put some fresh rosemary. You can use dry herbs if you can’t find fresh ones.
  • put into the oven and bake for 40-50 minutes. 
  • turn occasionally until golden brown and crispy.
  • serve with baked potatoes or rice. 
For baked potatoes, there are a lot of ways to make it. Usually, it takes a lot of time to bake raw potatoes. What I normally do is cut the potatoes in cubes and put it in microwave oven for about 10 minutes just to soften it a little. Then I wash it in cold water, strain and put spices on it. Same spices I use for the chicken legs. I also put dry herbs and oil on it then bake it together with my chicken. I love it deep brown and crispy so i let it cook about 40-50 minutes too.
And oh, I watermarked my pics too.. Yey! 🙂
Enjoy!

Leave a comment