Breaded Chicken Breast (The Israeli Way)

When I came to Israel to work as a caregiver, my first employer asked me what kind of food I can cook (yes, we’re the one cooking for our patients). I didn’t know what to answer because if I’ll say adobo, pinirito, sinigang, lechon paksiw and sinangag na left over rice, she will probably go berserk and throw me out before I could lay my hands on her.

I said “Anything. Just give me the recipe.” Fair ’nuff. Then she said, “First of all, you have to learn how to make Schnitzel“. And I was like, What the hell is that?? 


Schnitzel can be anything breaded and fried. It’s an Austrian dish but Israel is somehow trademarked with its own version typically made of chicken or turkey breast since pork is not allowed to be used. I think every restaurant here in Israel offers varieties of Schnitzel and you can really find it anywhere. It’s usually served with mashed potatoes, french fries or rice with hummus or ketchup dips and green salad.

For almost 5 years of living here in Tel-Aviv and for 5 long years of making Schnitzel once or twice every week, I found lots of ways to make it. Then I came up with my own version of the dish which my employer will never get tired of eating. I’m sharing it with you today. It’s so easy to make and very delicious.

With these things, you can make the best schnitzel ever

you also need this MALLET to pound the meat to make it as thin as possible
  1. 4 medium-sized boneless chicken or turkey breasts.
  2. 2 eggs
  3. 2 tbsp. all purpose flour
  4. 3 tbsp. milk
  5. 1-2 cups of Panko bread crumbs (usually they use crumbs from Matzot but I prefer Panko. You can find it in any local supermarket or japanese/chinese stores).
  6. salt and pepper.
  • Pound the meat using the mallet to make it thinner. Season with generous amount of salt and pepper.
  • Beat eggs together with flour and milk.
  • Soak your meat into the egg mixture, cover it and let it sit for 2-3 hours inside the fridge. (Some let it sit overnight but for me 2 hours is enough).
  • Prepare your Panko bread crumbs. Put a bit of salt and pepper in it and mix. (you can put sesame seeds if you want).
  • Heat your oil in medium heat.
  • Coat your soaked chicken breast with panko bread crumbs. Make sure it’s coated well and every part is covered with crumbs.
  • Now the trick here is not to let your oil boil or too hot. It will burn your crumbs in no time and you will end up with burned schnitzel on the outside but raw inside. Heat the oil to be just enough to simmer. 
  • Fry your coated meat at least 2 minutes on both sides and let it dry on a paper towel before serving.
I normally like my crumbs to be a bit brown and burned. I love it a bit more crispy so I let it cook a little more than usual. Serve it with buttered mashed potato and you will never go wrong with it.
Enjoy!

Leave a comment