Carrot-Apple Juice Craze

When I stumbled upon a replay video of Kris TV (a local morning show in the Philippines), one live caller asked Kris Aquino about her secrets to maintain her healthy skin and she answered carrot-apple juice. That was the beginning of my uncanny craze about drinking fresh juices. I normally buy bottled juice but I am aware of the sugar or sugar substitutes and preservatives that lurks inside these bottles. There’s nothing healthier than fresh fruits and vegetables.

According to studies, if you include fruits and vegetables to your diet, you decrease the risk of having chronic diseases. Apple and carrot has phytochemicals that reduced the risk of cardiovascular diseases and cancer. Carrots has antioxidant called beta-carotene which helps fight diseases by getting rid of free radical formation. Apples has antioxidants too that helps lower cholesterol level and prevent production of cancer cells. These two are rich in vitamins such as Vitamin A, C and B6.

When I started to hit the gym three weeks ago, I was thinking about fresh juices and vegetables that I could eat after every workout. For several days, I’ve been a constant customer of fresh juice store near my place spending 14 shekels for a glass of fresh carrot apple juice. Today, Fany (my employer) decided to buy a juicer for us to make fresh juices at home. We were both expecting that it will cost a lot of money but we were surprised that it was only half of our expected price. Yey!

499 shekels (approx. $120 USD) in Hamashbir inside Dizengoff Center

I was not a health buff until lately when I realized I have the potential to have serious health problems because I have a wide family history of chronic diseases. I didn’t expect that I will love going to the gym. Though I’m not so strict with my diet, I lost about 3 kilos for 3 weeks. These are my life’s simple pleasures. Trying to be happy and grateful even for a glass of carrot-apple juice. =)

Leave a comment